Indigo’s 21 with Jodi Olson 6/28/13

I have Miss Jodi Olson with us today! Jodi’s been a good friend of mine for a few years now, and she’s a fellow erotica writer as well!  Her books run the gambit from contemporary to BDSM, always giving the reader a spicy read that’s sure to please. Let’s get to know her a little better!  OH! And I forgot to mention, she’s also giving away a copy of FROM A DISTANCE to one lucky commenter. Check it out, and have a glass of ice water handy!

BLURB:
Bad boy Grayson Jameson was coming home after eighteen years, to a town that still hadn’t forgiven him. It was his brother’s funeral, but Grayson had other motives. The woman, the town librarian he couldn’t get out of his mind. How would Gillian Masterson react to his return? Could star-crossed lovers finally come together? Or would they be consigned to love only…From A Distance?

Image

EXCERPT:
“Honey, you know what will happen if I stay, and it sure in hell doesn’t involve either one of us sleeping.”
“I know, just… Let me have this one night with you. I know you’re leaving the day after tomorrow, but I need this.”
Clothes littered the floor on the way to the bedroom. Grayson leisurely made love to Gillian’s mouth at first. Her mouth was warm and sweet, she tasted good. She moaned against his lips when Grayson’s hands dropped to her bare shoulders.
Grayson took one of her hands in his, wrapped her small fingers around his hard cock, holding her hand there with light pressure. “Honey, I’m not going to last much longer if you keep doing that.”
Gillian’s fingertips stroked up, down and around his cock and he shuddered, feeling pleasure all along his spine.
With one hand on her waist, he gathered her close with his other arm and pressed against her soft hip. He kissed her gently while running his hands from her waist to her breasts and down again.
She whimpered as his kiss deepened.
His hand slid across her belly, stroking her velvety soft skin. With each movement, he trailed lower until his fingers were stroking the soft curls between her legs.
“I need you, Grayson,” she whispered.
He eased one finger into her moist folds. “Open your legs, honey.”
She did as he asked, and he slipped his hand further between her thighs, finding her slick and responsive to his touch. It was as if they’d been together for months. Deeper he probed, inserting one finger into her pussy, then withdrawing and returning with two fingers.
Gillian’s breathing grew heavy as her hips moved against his hand. Grayson smiled as he bent his head and took her breast in his mouth. As he did, he stroked her clit with his thumb. Her hips lifted off the bed. “Grayson!”
“You’re so responsive and wet for me, honey.” Grayson whispered against her breast.
He didn’t know how much longer he could keep control, her hip touching his was potent, and he found himself moving against her in response. He shifted his weight until he was lying between her spread legs, the head of his shaft poised at her entrance. Grayson entered her slowly, retreating and advancing a little at a time. Over and over again, he repeated the motion. Suddenly, she arched her back, gripping the sheets with her fingers, her legs wrapping around his waist. They moved in unison; their moans filling the air.
Gillian’s body began to convulse around him, her tight sheath gripping him, milking him again and again as she shook and shuddered. Waves of passion rolled down his spine when he released his seed inside her quivering pussy.
Grayson slowly moved off of her and collapsed onto the pillow next to Gillian. Pulling her close to his side, his thoughts drifted to why he was still in town…and it was all because of her. Now he wished they had more time together because she was making it harder for him to leave.

1. Tell us a little about yourself and your books.
My name is Jodi Olson, I write erotic romance books. I have been writing for the last 6 or 7 years, have 30 books out. Several books are now in audio and more to come. I’m a big time reader when I am not on the computer writing.

2. What genre(s) do you write?
I write several, Contemporary, historical westerns, Menage, BDSM, Gay.

3. What was it like to see your first book published?
It was beyond words. Playing House was my first book and to see it become an ebook was thrilling. When it was put in an anthology of several of my books a few years later had me over the moon. When I started writing it was just messing around, didn’t think I would ever send them in for publication. When I got accepted I was thrilled. Playing House wasn’t the first book written, it was number 4 I think. Since then all my books have been published, even the ones before Playing House.

4. How dear to your heart is writing? Do you think you’ll continue to write for the rest of your life?
It is very dear to my heart. I will continue to write as long as my health allows me too.

5. Do you ever lock up?  Have those moments where you just stare at your screen and think, “Yeah…I got nothing”?
Lots of times, I have sat for hours staring at the screen. I have already been away from writing now two weeks, because of having to pack for a move I don’t want to make. When I am able to get back to having time for writing it will be tough but I hope to not just stare at the screen.

6. How difficult is it for you to come up with ideas for your books?
I have lots of stories ideas written down right now that will keep me busy for a while. Sometimes the plotting takes a while or changes, but most times it’s not too difficult.

7. What about characters? Are the names and personalities difficult to develop?
My Hero in a book is easier to write then the Heroine’s.  When I start the book, I must know their names, I write them down along with a few flaws they may have, but once I start writing they take over on the personality part.

8. Do you ever find yourself struggling as a writer?
Not really.

9. About how long does it take for you to complete a book, from concept to completion?
I am a slow, slow writer. Lol It takes me 3 months to 6 months. Depends on how long the book ends up being. If I ever wrote a long book I think it would take me a year. But I prefer short books.

10. Do you have a ritual before, during and after finishing a book? 
Not really. After a book is finished I may take a few days off before starting another but that is about it.

11. Do you have a special time or place to write?
I have an office, the times vary, but I write mostly in the daytime and some in the evening if I don’t have my shows to watch. I don’t like writing real late or I’d never get sleep.

12. Any funny experiences or quirks you’d like to share with your readers?
Not that I can think of right now.

13. How do you find the time to balance your writing and family life?
Right now my husband is divorcing me so the writing is on hold pretty much.

14. How much down-time do you take between books? Or do you just jump right into the next?
I usually take a few days off, sometimes I have taken a week off. I have also had to take a month off before because of my hands and Dr’s orders. So it just depends on certain things going on at the time.

15. Do you have any interesting hobbies that you enjoy?
Only hobby I really have is reading, watching my shows on the TV during winter months.

16. If you could visit any place in the world, where would it be?
I am not a traveler at all, but I wouldn’t mind going to see some Aussie cowboys. lol

17. What’s next on your agenda?  Any new books in the works?
I have several. I’m working on Volume two of a western series of 4 books. I also am working on a BDSM long series of Male submissives. Also have another series in the works historical western about three brothers. I have also several other books started like a western ménage.

18. What advice would you give to others who want to make writing their career?
Don’t ever give up. Write as often as you can and don’t ever rush. Take the time to edit it or have others read it and help with edits. So many books I read have had poor editing done on them and it’s a turn off. Also write what you love, not what is hot right at the time. I would also say writers must read whenever they have free time because it will make you a better writer. This is a tough business and the readers may not like what you write, you need to let it roll off the shoulders and move on to the next one. Also if a publisher rejects your book move on to the next one. It’s hard but someone will love it and grab it.

19. What authors inspire you?
Maya Banks, Beth Williamson, Linda Leal Miller, Lora Leigh, Lori Foster, Cheyenne McCray and many others.

20. What’s something unique about you that not many people might know?
No idea. lol

 21. Is there anything you would like to share about your writing and publishing experience that might inspire and support new and struggling writers?
Most of this I think I covered in question 18.

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit with us here today, Jodi!  Now, inquiring minds need to know…where can your readers stalk you?

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Blog
Yahoo Group

NOW, for the fun part! Leave a meaningful comment on this post for a chance to win a copy of FROM A DISTANCE!  One person will be randomly chosen on 7/1/13! Thank you for stopping by! 🙂  ~Indigo

Leave a Reply

