Indigo’s 21 with Cynthia Sax 6/17/13

Please welcome Cynthia Sax to the Asylum today!! Cynthia writes short stories that are so steamy, you’ll need an ice bath after reading!  Her book HE WATCHES ME releases July 2nd, but don’t fret, my pretty little inmates…because it’s available for PRE-ORDER now! Let’s show her some love while getting to know her a little better, shall we?

BIO: Cynthia Sax lives in a world filled with magic and romance. Although her heroes may not always say, “I love you”, they will do anything for the women they adore. They live passionately. They play hard. They love the same women forever.
Cynthia has loved the same wonderful man forever. Her supportive hubby offers himself up to the joys and pains of research, while they travel the world together, meeting fascinating people and finding inspiration in exotic places such as Istanbul, Bali, and Chicago.

Cynthia Sax.He Watches Me

1.    Tell us a little about yourself and your books.
I’m Cynthia Sax. I write VERY sexy short stories and novellas. My most recent release is The Seen Trilogy (He Watches Me, He Touches Me, He Claims Me), a hot contemporary erotic romance serial featuring Anna, an unlikely exhibitionist, and Blaine, her enigmatic billionaire neighbor.

2.    What genre(s) do you write?
I write contemporary, SciFi and paranormal erotic romances for Avon Impulse, Ellora’s Cave, Changeling Press, and Loose Id.

3.    What was it like to see your first book published?
It felt VERY surreal. That was MY name on the cover! The excitement hasn’t dimmed either. Every time I receive a new cover, I lose a day of writing because I spend that day staring at it.

4.    How dear to your heart is writing? Do you think you’ll continue to write for the rest of your life?
I have always written and I will always write. Having stories published is a choice. Writing isn’t. It is a part of me like my heart or my soul. Selling my stories allows me to spend more time writing.

5.    Do you ever lock up?  Have those moments where you just stare at your screen and think, “Yeah…I got nothing”?
I always have ideas but sometimes I don’t know where or how to start these ideas. I tend to start writing and then a couple of days into the story (5,000 words or so), I’ll scrap that writing and start in the right spot.

6.    How difficult is it for you to come up with ideas for your books?
I have a list of my top 100 story ideas and ideas are added or dropped from this list every week, sometimes every day. Some writers worry about other people stealing their ideas. I’m grateful when this happens. I can’t write all of the ideas I have.

7.    What about characters? Are the names and personalities difficult to develop?
My characters often know their own names. Many times, they won’t tell me what their names are though. I’ll flip through a baby book, asking them “Is this your name?” Yes (grins), it is very frustrating. They have their own personalities too. They’re like real people that way.

8.    Do you ever find yourself struggling as a writer?
Every dang day. This is a challenging career which is why I love it. Every story is different. Every character is different. Every character finds his or her happy ever after in a different way.

9.    About how long does it take for you to complete a book, from concept to completion?
Every book is different. I usually write 3,000 words a day during first draft. When is a book complete? When it is available for sale? That’s a year or longer time frame. He Watches Me took five years because I didn’t have the writing skills during first draft to tell the story I wanted to tell. I set He Watches Me aside while I learned those skills.

10.    Do you have a ritual before, during and after finishing a book?
I usually take a day off after submitting a story. I spend that day doing promo or other writing-related business. I don’t add any fresh writing.

11.    Do you have a special time or place to write?
My core writing hours are office hours (9 am to 5 pm) seven days a week but I tend to write longer than that. I’m a very slow writer. I average about 500 words an hour. As for special places to write, my desk faces a blank wall. This eliminates distractions for me.

12.    Any funny experiences or quirks you’d like to share with your readers?
LOL I love how you sneaked this question in between all of the more serious ones. I’m a pantser (someone who writes by the seat of her pants, with no plot), so I never know how a story will end before I finish writing it.

13.    Well, I have to keep you on your toes, ya know 😉  Ok next question…How do you find the time to balance your writing and family life?
I’m a workaholic. The hubby is a workaholic. We don’t have kids and we don’t need much sleep.

14.    How much down-time do you take between books? Or do you just jump right into the next?
I usually take a day off, purge the brain, and then start again. Writing keeps me sane. I like to write every day.

15.    Do you have any interesting hobbies that you enjoy?
(blinks) What writer has the time or need for hobbies?

16.    If you could visit any place in the world, where would it be?
The hubby and I travel quite a bit. It is our drug of choice. I love Istanbul, Bali, Chicago, Paris, and a zillion other places. I’d love to return to these places.

17.    What’s next on your agenda?  Any new books in the works?
Warlord Reunited and Warlord’s Mercy, books 3 and 4 in the Warlord SciFi series at Ellora’s Cave, should be releasing soon (no date yet). I’ve written the follow up story to The Seen Trilogy. Their Missing Lynx, the fourth and last story in the Big Cat Mates series at Changeling, is releasing in August.

18.    What advice would you give to others who want to make writing their career?
Don’t write for the money. There are a zillion easier ways to make money. Write because you can’t NOT write. A writer told me early in my career “If you can do anything else, do it.” That’s the best advice I’ve ever received. Once I accepted I couldn’t do anything else, quitting was no longer an option.

19.    What authors inspire you?
Loretta Chase’s Lord Of Scoundrels is my benchmark book for telling a tight story. Whenever I think my stories can’t get any tighter, I read that book and I know I have work to do. Kelley Armstrong is my benchmark for treating readers right. She loves her readers to bits and it shows. I want my reading buddies to feel the love also.

20.    What’s something unique about you that not many people might know?
Both Anna, the exhibitionist heroine of He Watches Me, and I enjoy skinny dipping. She swims naked in a backyard swimming pool belonging to her billionaire neighbor. I swim naked in secluded lakes. There’s nothing like the feeling of water flowing over bare skin.

21.    Is there anything you would like to share about your writing and publishing experience that might inspire and support new and struggling writers?
Writers write. It isn’t what we do. It is what we are. Write every day, even if it is 100 uninspired words handwritten on the back of a paper napkin. Yes, take workshops, get critiqued, ask for help with scenes, and constantly learn, constantly improve. But no matter what happens, write.

Well, now.  Skinny dipping…I’ll keep my dirty thoughts to myself!  lol Thank you so much for taking the time to visit with us here today, Cynthia, and don’t forget to pre-order HE WATCHES ME everyone!  Now, inquiring minds need to know…where can your readers stalk you?

Website
Facebook Page
Twitter
Blog

 

 

3 thoughts on “Indigo’s 21 with Cynthia Sax 6/17/13

  1. cynthiasax says:

    Thank you for having me over at your online home, Indigo! I LOVED this interview!

Leave a Reply

