Indigo’s 21 with Haper Jewel 6/8/13

Harper Jewel joins me today! Haper is a fellow Horny Devil like myself, so I’m very excited to have her in the spotlight.  And now it’s time…let’s get to know Harper!

BIO: An avid reader of paranormal and erotic romances since my college days, I have always dreamed of becoming an author.  After accepting advice from a few friends, I sat and took the time to write my first short story and was thoroughly ecstatic when it was accepted, and I received my first contract from Horny Devil Publishing.
My reading interests include works by Kate Douglas, Shayla Black, Lauren Dane, Sylvia Day, Elizabeth Amber, J.R. Ward, and Christine Feehan, to name a few.
My TBR pile is quite large so when I’m not being a wife, mother, housekeeper, cook, launderer or chauffeur, you’ll find me either writing or reading!
A published author under the name Dee Licious, I have decided to change my pen name to Harper Jewel from here on out.  I’m thrilled to be a part of Horny Devil Publishing’s stable of talented authors.
Image1. Tell us a little about yourself and your books.
I’m a new author signed with Horny Devil Publishing.  I have always been an avid reader, and I was always making up stories or plays in my head as a child.  A few friends encouraged me to take the time to write a short story and submit it, and the rest was history as they say.  I’m currently writing two separate series.

2. What genre(s) do you write?
Inked Heat—Contemporary Erotic Ménage centered around two hunky tattoo artists introduced in each book.  A Seekers Story—is a Paranormal Erotic Series based on a very special triad (one woman, two men) of bird of prey shifters.

3. What was it like to see your first book published?
An absolute dream come true.  I was so lucky to have the talented Dee Allen do my cover work as well.  She truly brought my book to life.

4. How dear to your heart is writing? Do you think you’ll continue to write for the rest of your life?
I feel as if writing is in my blood.  I’ve always loved reading and writing.  My mom still has copies of stories I wrote as a child.  So, yes, I do hope to continue for as long as possible.

5. Do you ever lock up?  Have those moments where you just stare at your screen and think, “Yeah…I got nothing”?
Unfortunately, yes.  I find that there have been times where my characters stop giving me direction.  In cases like that, I simply stop and take a few days to regroup.

6. How difficult is it for you to come up with ideas for your books?
I’ve been pretty lucky so far.  Ideas seem to hit me at rather odd moments, though.  In fact, an idea for a new series came to me one day when sitting in my car in a major traffic jam.  Of course, I had no laptop, paper or pen with me so I kept repeating the idea in my head until I got home and ran for the laptop!

7. What about characters? Are the names and personalities difficult to develop?
I have an idea in my head as to what my characters need to look like.  Then I sit and google the description until I find a pic that when I see it makes me shout out.  That’s him/her!  Once I have the pic that I keep taped on the wall in my office, I find it quite easy to develop my characters personalities.

8. Do you ever find yourself struggling as a writer?
The thing I struggle with most right now is exposure and building a fan base.  I do work part-time and so don’t have the hours or the budget necessary to promote my work, but I’m hoping that will become easier with each release I have.  Finding people to review your work is also important.

9. About how long does it take for you to complete a book, from concept to completion?
That depends on what is happening in my life at the time.  Trent and Trey was by far the quickest one I’ve written to date.  Those characters were just talking a mile a minute to me and wouldn’t let me stop no matter how exhausted I felt.

10. Do you have a ritual before, during and after finishing a book?
My only real ritual I’ve followed since day one is finding a pic on the internet that personifies my characters.  Once I sit down and begin the writing process, I always have a snack (my After Eight mints) and drink, either hot or iced tea handy.

11. Do you have a special time or place to write?
Mornings and after dinner seem to be the best time for me as my family is occupied elsewhere and I have little to no interruptions during those hours.

12. Any funny experiences or quirks you’d like to share with your readers?
I only recently “came out” to my family about my new career.  I was pleasantly surprised at the encouragement I received from them and love the fact that they are “pimping” my books to their friends.  As for quirks, the only one I can think of is I am double-jointed in both my thumbs.  I inherited the trait from my father.  I can bend my thumb back towards my wrist and have the fingernail just about touch it.  Most people think it looks totally gross looking.

13. How do you find the time to balance your writing and family life?
I’m still adjusting and fine-tuning that balance.  I don’t think I’m quite there yet, so I’ll have to get back to you on that.

14. How much down-time do you take between books? Or do you just jump right into the next?
If I have something outlined, I usually jump right into the next project.  So far I’ve been lucky enough to be able to do that, and I really hope it continues that way.

15. Do you have any interesting hobbies that you enjoy?
One hobby that helps me when writing my Seekers stories is I am a birder.  I have actually been on a Falcon Hunt with a Falcon Master that I met at a Renaissance Festival.  Of course, the Falcon Master treated his birds very kindly and not like Robert Farrow in Virgin Prey.  Other than that I read, read, and read some more.

16. If you could visit any place in the world, where would it be?
I would really like to visit Australia.  The idea of going on a safari in the outback holds much appeal for me.  I’m a very animal-friendly type person.

17. What’s next on your agenda?  Any new books in the works?
I’m currently working on the next installment of my Seekers Series but have yet to come up with a workable title I’m happy with.  All I know is it will have “prey” in the title.

18. What advice would you give to others who want to make writing their career?
Stick to your guns and perservere.  If you put your mind to it, anything can happen.  My dream may have taken its sweet time in coming, but it did!

19. What authors inspire you?
Kate Douglas is my number one inspiration.  She persevered, and now she is a NY Times Bestselling Author.  Others that inspire me are Elizabeth Amber and Shayla Black.

20. What’s something unique about you that not many people might know?
Wow, that’s a tough one.  I’m pretty much an open book.  I’m easy to read, which can sometimes be a detriment.  I can’t hide it when I’m angry or sad.

21. Is there anything you would like to share about your writing and publishing experience that might inspire and support new and struggling writers?
Just don’t let go of the dream.  Hold onto it with all your worth.  I feel blessed to have been accepted as an author for HDP.  I don’t think I could self-publish.  The editing department at HDP has been fantastic to work with.

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit with us here today!  Now, inquiring minds need to know…where can your readers stalk you?

Amazon Page Dee Licious
Amazon Page Harper Jewel
Goodreads Page
Manic Readers Page
Facebook Page
Website
The Romance Reviews
Blog

4 thoughts on “Indigo’s 21 with Haper Jewel 6/8/13

  1. Harper and Indigo, I truly enjoyed the interview. Harper, I loved getting to know you better and love this series!!

  2. Thanks so much for having me, Indigo! I enjoyed my time here!

Leave a Reply

